About Us

ACT Gridiron @ a glance…

Founded 1993

President Cody Field

Send your Snail Mail to PO BOX 170, Woden ACT 2606

Want it to reach us today? Email  secretary@actgridiron.com.au


Gridiron in the ACT began in 1990 with the formation of the Canberra Sabretooths Gridiron Club. In their first year as a team, the Sabretooths played a number of full contact games against NSW Gridiron teams before officially entering the NSW competition in 1991. The Club played three seasons as members of the NSW League becoming the State Champions in 1994 – the Club’s last year in the competition.

In 1993 and with five senior teams keen to compete in a weekly gridiron competition, the Senior ACT Gridiron League (ACTGL) was formed. The original teams were Belconnen Thunderbolts, Queanbeyan Wolverines, Tidbinbilla Space Cadets, Tuggeranong Tornadoes, and the University of Canberra Firebirds.

With a competitive edge and experience behind them, the Tidbinbilla Space Cadets took out the ACTGL Championship in the League’s first year of competition with the Championship game named the Capital Bowl.

Only two of the original teams still compete in ACT Gridiron today – the Tornadoes and the Firebirds.





    1. Hi Max
      There are a number of Clubs that have Junior Teams in the ACT, you can join any one that you wish. If you contact the leagues junior coordinator, Jason Ray, he will be able to provide you with the contact details of the nearest club.


      Thanks for your enquiry

    1. Hi Kyle

      The Junior season has not been determined yet It is expected to start early-mid October, depending on how many teams we have. We will announce the junior schedule on the website and your club should also let you know once it is all sorted

      Thanks for you inquiry and let us know if you have any other questions.

      ACTG Media

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *